

City of La Crosse, Wisconsin

City Hall 400 La Crosse Street La Crosse, WI 54601

Department Details

Department name: Heritage Preservation Commission

Type: Board or Commission

Meeting time: 6:00 PM

Meeting location:

Primary contact: Tim Acklin

Description: The Heritage Preservation Commission is responsible for the protection, enhancement, and

perpetuation of such improvements which represent or reflect elements of the City's cultural, social, economic, political, engineering and architectural history; safeguarding the City's historic and cultural heritage, as embodied and reflected in such historic structures, sites and objects; stabilizing and improving property values; fostering civic pride in the beauty and noble accomplishments of the past; protecting and enhancing the City's

attractions to residents, tourists and visitors, and serve as a support and stimulus to business and industry; strengthening the economy of the City; and promoting the use of historic structures, sites and objects for the education, pleasure and welfare of the people of the City. The present commission's authority is defined in the Municipal Code. The Heritage

Preservation Commission is comprised of seven members, all of whom shall be residents of the City. Of the membership, one shall be a Council Member and the remaining members shall be citizens of the City. The Mayor shall appoint the Commissioners subject to confirmation by the Common Council. Membership on the Commission shall be for a term

of two years.

Name	Title	Start Date	End Date
David Riel Appointed By: Mayor	Citizen	6/8/2017	11/11/2023 *
Eric Garland Appointed By: Mayor	Citizen	4/13/2023	4/13/2025
Greg Clark Appointed By: Mayor	Citizen	3/9/2023	3/9/2025
Jim Gallagher Appointed By: Mayor	Citizen	3/12/2024	3/14/2026
Laura Godden Appointed By: Mayor	Citizen	4/11/2019	11/11/2023 *
Mackenzie Mindel Appointed By: Mayor	Council Member	5/13/2021	4/15/2025
Natalie Heneghan Appointed By: Mayor	Citizen	2/9/2023	2/9/2025

* indicates extended term